Makeover Monday- paper transformation


I know it’s not Monday. I know yesterday was the day I was supposed to get this posted. Yesterday was a busy day, and after I finished putting the final touches on this project it was getting too dark to properly photograph it. (Another reason I need to get myself a light tent!) So, here I am. A day late again. Maybe instead of it being “Makeover Monday” it should be “Makeover whatever day of the week it happens to be”! LOL!

Today I want to show you how fun and easy it is to transform an ordinary item into something cute and fabulous with just paper and a few supplies. It’s easy to give new life to cast off items or give a face lift to items that have seen their better days.

Here’s what I started out with. I purchased this little wooden piece at the Goodwill store a few weeks ago with the thought in mind to make it over in some way.
008

It was the cute little drawers in this thing that got me.
009

Here is what it looks like after a coat of paint and a few pieces of patterned paper.
041

My original idea was to take off the little knobs so I could just attach the paper and then glue the knobs back on. I tried to pry them off, but they wouldn’t budge, so it was on to plan B. I ended up cutting X’s in the center of each piece of paper before adhering it down with mod podge. Then after the mod podge dried I cut around the knobs with a craft knife. I didn’t like the way it looked, so I had to finish it off somehow which is how I got the idea to add the little black embossed pieces to cover up the X’s.

043

Simple, right? Just goes to show that one does not need an lot of supplies to completely give a new look to something. Anything that you can glue paper to is fair game for a makeover.

Now my only problem is deciding where to hang this. Should it go in the office for holding paper clips, rubber bands, stamps and other tiny office supplies?
Or how about the sewing room? You could put thread, extra needles, buttons, and such in those little drawers.
Or in my crafts room for housing small embellishments.
What about the bathroom. I’ll bet it would be the perfect spot for cotton swabs, Q-tips and extra razors.
The entry way? Keys and other small knick-knacks would fit fine.
A child’s room would be a great spot. They could fill the drawers with treasures.

Hmmm….I’ll have to give that some more thought.

So, what do you think? Can you see a makeover somewhere in the future for something in your house? I’d love to hear about it!

8 thoughts on “Makeover Monday- paper transformation

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

