ever grateful


Hi-ya friends.

Autumn is starting to fade here in my corner of the world, but we do have lots of trees that are still dressed in their fall finery. It makes me so happy to spot the bright yellow and orange leaves among all the drab browns and grays as I’m driving along. It’s like the leaves want to put on one good show before they say goodbye for the long winter.

Thanksgiving is coming up in a few weeks. I’ve got a card to share today that would be perfect to send to someone special this Thanksgiving season to let them know how grateful you are to have them in your life.

005

I simply stamped a few leaves in the corner, stamped, cut and popped one up, and then hand stitched some curved lines with linen thread to mimic the look of wisps of wind.

I made this card for the CARDS blog challenge to use stitching. I was surprised and happy to see that Paige chose to spotlight it this week. See it along with lots of other fabulously stitched cards here on the CARDS blog.

This card is for all of you. Since I can’t send all of you one, just let me say that I am so grateful to all of you who read my ramblings and stop by to leave comments. You all are the best and I am thankful for you!

I’m trying hard to get all my chores done today so I can have a day to myself tomorrow to do a little clothes shopping and maybe hang out at Barnes and Noble for a little bit. I need to make a stop at Home Depot to get supplies for an upcoming class as well. I’m looking forward to having a few hours to myself to do whatever I want to without having to worry about getting home on time for lunch. Or naps. And strapping a kid in a car seat everywhere I go. And being able to listen to the music I want to without anyone asking to put on their favorite kids CD. And being able to think without a tiny voice asking a million questions. And being able to shop without stopping to look at the toys.

I also know that once I’m out for a few hours I’ll be so ready to come home to have little arms wrap around my legs and hear shrieks of “mommy’s home!” and have a tickle fight with all the kids piled on top of me. Life is good.

7 thoughts on “ever grateful

  1. Jackie says:

    Oooooh! Beautiful card – thank you! I love it! The stitching is perfect and I’ll have to give it a try doing it like this. I always love your projects!

  2. Diane says:

    This so beautiful and simple at the same time. I love it. I also love your thoughts on life!! I not only enjoy your art work but your writing, too. I always look forward to a new post.

  3. carol marbach says:

    whoa. i’m a bit behind on your blog. i just saw this card yesterday on the blog and fell in love with it. it’s beautiful!!!

    guess i better not wait so long next time.

    great job. xoxox

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

