berry irresistible


I just love it when God reminds me how great it is to be a mom. I know I shouldn’t need reminders. But, truth be told, some days I do. Things don’t always go as planned. Kids (and moms and dads) get tired and grumpy. Kids don’t always listen and do as they know they should. Sometimes they talk back and rebel. Sometimes I’m too tired from everything I’ve done that day to enjoy this thing called motherhood. It gets tiring to have to repeat the same reprimands and instructions over and over again. There are disappointments and unmet expectations. Sometimes (okay, a lot of times) my own selfishness gets in the way and I’m more focused on my own needs and desires instead of my kids.

But sometimes in the middles of the day, out of nowhere, I get a reminder from God of just how precious my kids are and why I love to be a mom. Those reminders come in all kinds of forms and they are so precious when they come. This week so far they have come in the form of a hand made card from my eight year old son, Isaiah, that had a special message inside telling me thanks for all I do and that he loves me to the moon and back. He got that phrase from me, by the way. Hee!

002

Another came yesterday after a woman’s meeting at church when Chloe begged to go play on the church playground for a while. It was such a nice day, so we did, even though we were twenty minutes from home and it was already time to head home for lunch. We ran and played and went down the slides together. I probably looked most unladylike to the women who were still leaving from the meeting, but I didn’t care. Hearing my daughter’s squeals of laughter and seeing her beaming face framed by the bright blue autumn sky was more important at the moment than how I appeared to anyone else.

I wonder how many of those reminders I have missed this week? I’m sure there were many that I missed because I was too self absorbed or had a bad attitude. God, thank you for those reminders and help me not to miss them. Have you had any reminders this week? I’d love to hear about them.

Let’s get on to the paper stuff, shall we? I have a super quick layout to share with you this time. Sometimes when I stress over a layout and can’t quite figure out what it needs my best bet is to simplify. When I was making this layout I had that problem. Things just weren’t coming together the way I thought they should until I decided to finish it off in a super simple way. I love the results and I love the simplicity of it.

001

I started with a thin piece of chipboard instead of card stock for the back ground. I got the pattern by laying a piece of lace card stock over it and spraying the entire thing with glimmer mist. I applied the mist heavier in the middle and lighter at the edges for a gradient look. From there I simply added the photos, a few embellishments, and a rub on title. Easy peasy!

Today is the last day to enter your name in the drawing for the free kids paint set or stamp set from KidKraft. Be sure to leave a comment here for your chance to win. The giveaway ends tonight at midnight (EST).

I’ll be back tomorrow with a card or two to share. Have a great day!

2 thoughts on “berry irresistible

  1. Karen - stampin3 says:

    Thank you for this post!! It was not a great day for myself and kids. Didn’t end well either. This is just the reminder I needed to realize that my kids aren’t perfect. And they are just that – kids. I’ll be sure to hug and kiss my kids before they leave for school in the morning. Beautiful page too.

  2. crystal says:

    Thanks for posting about the reminder to cherish our kids. You were the third reminder this week! Maybe Gods trying real hard to get through to me. So I have been very intentional to cherish all the moments. That includes throwing ball w/Isaac, giggling with Izabel when she woke way to early from her nap and laughing at Devin when he didn’t open his mouth for his food.
    That was so sweet of Isaiah to make a card for you.
    Have a great day.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

