Makeover Monday- clothing tags


Hello everyone! I hope you all had a great weekend. Ours was pretty relaxing. We spent most of the weekend just hanging out with the kids, playing games, watching movies and stuff like that.

I’m happy to bring you this month’s Makeover Monday post. It’s a week late, I know, but we’ve been dealing with an extremely stressful situation and being under stress just kind of robs me of any desire to get creative. I won’t go into details here. It would take too long and I don’t want to bore you or burden you with my problems. Those of you who know us well probably already know what I’m talking about anyway. We’d appreciate your prayers as we wait for God to move on our behalf in one direction or another. The waiting is hard, but I am so thankful for a body of believers who have been and are lifting us up in prayer.

Having said that, though, it felt really good to sit down and make something. As I made myself begin creating these projects for you I felt the mojo begin to flow again and it felt really good! I was made to create. It’s an integral part of me that I just can’t stay away from for very long.

This month’s focus is on using tags that come on articles of new clothes we purchase. Hopefully all of us have the opportunity to buy new clothes from time to time and if you have you’ve probably already noticed that sometimes the tags attached to those clothes are really pretty cool. I’d like to show you how you can use just a few items to transform those tags into a cool embellishment to add to your scrapbook pages, cards and more.
Each of these tags was made using scraps from my paper scrap stash and a few other items I already had on hand.

Here are a few tags that I had lying around waiting to be beautified.
001

Most of these come from clothes I’ve bought for my kids and, as you can probably tell, I buy a lot of their clothes at Target. Who can argue with cute AND inexpensive?

Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

I like this tag for the pretty pattern it already had on it. And you gotta love that it’s pink! I wanted to be sure not to cover up that pretty design so this tag….
007

was turned into this:
008

supplies: clothing tag; patterned paper and letter stickers (making Memories); die cut bee (Fancy Pants); you sticker and flower (not sure)

Next up let’s take a look at these tags. I love that they are made of durable chipboard and that they are a kraft color which is so easy to to work with. You don’t have to worry about matching colors. Anything goes with kraft.
002

So these tags were transformed to this…
009
supplies: clothing tag; card stock (Stampin’ Up!); rub-ons (American Crafts); gems

and this…
010
supplies: clothing tag; patterned paper and acrylic compass (Making Memories); travel sticker (Michael’s)

Now let’s look at this one. I don’t remember where this one came from, but I like how it looks like metal, so I thought it would be perfect for a masculine project.
006

And here’s what it looks like all done.
012
supplies: clothing tag; rub-ons (Pink Paislee); letter stickers (unknown)

Next up is this one. I like the faux stitching and the colors.
005

I turned it into this posh purple tag.
011
supplies: clothing tag; patterned paper (Deja Views and other); dictionary paper; brad (Pink Paislee); rub-on (American Crafts); lace (Scarlet Lime)

Now this one. It’s made of leather and has “genuine leather” stamped on the front. I think it came from a belt I bought for my boys. It’s tiny, but I love the interesting shape of this one.
004

I turned it into this. I think I’ll hand it from my crop bag.
013
supplies: leather clothing tag; flower (unknown); word cut from patterned paper (7 Gypsies)

Last of all we have this one.
014

It came from a pair of jeans I bought for one of my sons. I decided to leave it just the way it is. It’s cool enough to use just like this on a page somewhere.

There you have it. What do you think? I love the money saving aspect of this idea. I ended up with all these cool tags for just pennies! All of these were made using five items or less (not counting the tags themselves) and all the patterned paper came from my box of patterned paper scraps. You can save yourself some money just by keeping your eyes open for interesting things to add to your paper crafting projects.

Thank you for all your sweet comments. They always make my day!

19 thoughts on “Makeover Monday- clothing tags

  1. Diane says:

    Brenda,
    You’re all in my thoughts and prayers. I hope what ever is troubling you is better soon.
    You are right about one thing, you were born to create. These tags are terrific! You give me inspiration!

    Diane

  2. kolleen says:

    way to go girl !! Love, love them all 🙂 I love all ur website ! Hope you are feeling unstressed soon . Praying & love ya girl !!

  3. crystal says:

    Brenda, Your breaking my heart talking about all the stress you are going through. We love you all dearly and pray often. Be Blessed and keep Creating!
    Crystal

  4. Renee says:

    Brenda, I’ve always been fascinted by tags, too. Great ideas! My prayers are with you, too. God knows. And He has a plan. ((hugs))

  5. karen dellovo says:

    I work at Target. I have to show these to the softlines team leads (the clothing department). They’ll get a kick out of it!

  6. diane miller says:

    thanks for this. i love these kinds of ideas cause there are so many cute little things like this (say tags) and you take them off the item but don’t want to throw them out.. love it! you have inspired me.

  7. Maria says:

    This is incredible, Brenda!! I LOVE this post!!! Who would have even thought about making these, but how easy – very creative and super cute!!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

