card couture


Good morning everyone! Happy Wednesday.
We’re gearing up to watch the fair parade tonight, as long as it doesn’t rain that is. Hopefully the rain will hold off. My kids have been looking forward to the parade for days and days.

On another note, I tried my hand at my first MY Timeless Templates from Papertrey Ink (designed by Lauren Meader) this week. I chose to use the Card Couture template for gifts for two of my son’s teachers who had a birthday this week. I was pretty happy with how they turned out, but was surprised by how long it took me to complete the boxes. That may have something to do with the fact that I was trying to get them done around 11:00 at night! LOL! Now that I’ve done two of them I’m sure the next ones will go together a little more smoothly. I’m hoping to use this template a lot more!

Here’s what the front looks like.
001

How about a closer view at that flower on the front? The gems were all glued on one by one and I love the results.
010

I used some retired designer paper from Stampin’ Up! and was delighted to get it almost all used up!

Here’s what it looks like open.
002

This template has so many possibilities which is the great thing about all of Lauren’s templates. Her templates are very well thought out for maximum versatility. This one could be used to hold Ghirardelli chocolates or home made cookies, seed packets, a sewing kit, and of course cards just to name a few.

I chose to fill mine with a set of ten cards in five different designs. I stuck with designs that were pretty simple because I had to make twenty in all, and also because I didn’t want the cards to have too much bulk so they would all fit inside the box. My cards have a finished measurement of 5″x4″ so they would fit.

003

Here are the cards. I purposely did not add a sentiment to any of the cards so that the teachers would be able to use them for any occasion that suits their needs.

004

005

007

008

009

The one thing I will do differently next time is to print out the templates in a lighter color of ink. I used black and wasn’t thinking that it would show up on the inside. Next time I will print it out using a soft gray to make the print lines less noticeable.

I packaged them up in gift bags along with envelopes to go with the cards and sent them off with my son with instructions for him to protect my “precious’s” on the bumpy bus ride. He assured me he would take good care of them and buckle them in. 🙂

Gotta run. I’ve got some fresh blackberries waiting to be made into jam (oh yummm!!!), and a list of stuff needing my attention.

Have a good one!

supplies: all supplies from Stampin’ Up! with the exception of the apron lace decorative edge punch from Fiskars and the gems I picked up in bulk at A.C. Moore.

5 thoughts on “card couture

  1. kolleen says:

    benda you never cease to amaze. hmmm my b-day is coming up lol 🙂 !! I also went onto 52 skeches ! Love them that site too ! Blessings on ur week !

  2. Diane says:

    So, so pretty! I have to check out the template and try it.
    Everything you do is gorgeous! I check every day (sometimes several times) to see what you add to your blog. I can’t get enough!!

    Diane

  3. Shai says:

    These are beautiful! I’ve been surfing the internet for inspiration for a few hours now, and I have to say these are some of the prettiest I’ve seen so far. I got some fresh scrapbooking papers I’d love to try with your ideas. Thanks for sharing!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

