2009 Convention display samples


Good morning everyone!

In reference to my last post, I did return home from my shopping trip all in one piece. In fact, the kids were so good about the shopping trip. It might have had something to do with getting ice cream first, though, but I was impressed by how well it went with three tired kids.
Oh, and the naps. Well I didn’t have to threaten them, but I did make all three kids (yes, even my 10 and 7 year old boys) take an afternoon nap because I could tell they needed it. They all slept for a few hours and were ready to go to bed again at the usual time. So I guess mommy did know best. They were still worn out from our day at the beach. Play hard, sleep well!

I am excited to have been one of the runner ups for this year’s Stampin’ Up! Artisan Award contest! Yay!!! Even though I didn’t win I am happy to know I almost made it! Next year I will be upping my game. I’m already planning out my projects. I want them to be as fabulous as I can possibly make them. The 3D items are the hardest for me, so I am taking special attention to them. Lots of planning, creating, redoing, brainstorming. etc, etc.

I was asked by Stampin’ Up! to create samples for the displays at this year’s convention held in Salt Lake City, Utah. The convention is over now, so I can share the projects that I made. There were 25 in all, so I’ll show you five at a time to spread things out a bit. From the photos I saw from convention I know that many of these were on the display boards but probably not all, but I don’t know for sure.

The following samples were made using the brand new “Hello Again” stamp set released with this years Idea Book and Catalog.

One of the 3D items I made. I found the little bucket at Target in the $1 spot. The ribbon is new to this catalog as well.
001

Another 3D. This is a cupcake made out of paper. It didn’t turn out quite the way i wanted, but they must have liked it since it was on one of the displays.
002

This card was one of my favorites. I like how it’s simple, but cute.
003

Since the stamp set is kind of girlie I decided to try my hand at making a masculine card with it. The star burst looking images kind of reminded me of jacks that kids play with, so I paired it with some hand made cog wheels for a boyish spin.
005

And here’s a soft, feminine card using the same stamp set.
006

I got three stamp sets to use for the samples and all three were ones I would not have picked for myself. None of them were really my style, but it’s good for the creative process to work with images outside of one’s comfort zone every once in a while. It’s really stretching.

Anyway. I hope you like! I’ll be back later with more samples to share with you all.
Happy day!

4 thoughts on “2009 Convention display samples

  1. Alicia says:

    Good for you for planning out your projects for next year. πŸ™‚ I should enter that contest at some point. I just have this problem with creativity and then giving those projects away. πŸ™‚ Love the samples you came up with for this stamp set.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

