Makeover Monday- buttons


Good morning everyone!
I know I’m a day late (and more than a dollar short) with this post. Thanks for being patient and bearing with me. We’ll just have our Makeover Monday on Tuesday again this time.

Today it’s all about buttons. I have several collections of buttons that have come from various manufacturers such as Foofala, etc. I like to keep them stored in glass jars so I can see all the colors and sizes. They’re fun to look at and make great decor pieces for any scrap area.

I also have lots of buttons that I’ve picked up in a few places, such as by the bagful at my local Goodwill store, extra ones left over from the monthly kit club I purchase, and buttons I’ve cut off of clothing that had seen it’s last days. These I have sorted by color in a divided box.

Guess which buttons I go for first. Most often it’s the ones I’ve collected from various places that I have in my divided box and not the ones that were specifically made for scrapbooking that are so pretty stored in their glass jars. I’m not entirely sure why.
Maybe it’s because I love to reuse things for something other than their intended purpose.
Maybe I get more of a thrill hunting through a bag of buttons I’ve just picked up from a thrift shop since you never know what you’ll find in there.
Maybe it has something to do with my childhood memory of playing with my mother’s button collection as I sat by her side while she was sewing a new dress for one of us girls. I loved to sort through her many buttons that she had stored by color and was always fascinated by all the colors, shapes and sizes. I remember the teeny tiny ones for shirt collars were my favorites. They were like tiny baby buttons. So small and cute.

So for this month’s Makeover Monday edition I’m focusing on those wonderfully versatile and so fun to use buttons. All the buttons I used on the following pages come from my box of found-in-various-places buttons and not from my jars of buttons specifically manufactured for use in scrapbooking. But feel free to use any buttons you may have on hand and experiment with them. Here are a few things I came up with.

I made all scrapbook pages this time, so sit back and relax. I’ve got pretty much to share this time around.

Use lots of monochromatic buttons to make a striking visual impact on your page:
026

I like the white buttons here on a page about my daughter at the lake. The buttons remind me of drops of water or sand. You can use a lot of buttons this way without overwhelming your page.

027

Don’t you wonder where all these buttons may have been before? It would be fun to know.

supplies: Cardstock (Stampin’ Up!); patterned paper (Scarlet Lime); bingo card (Jenni Bowlin); decorative tape and epoxy brackets (Making Memories); die cut flower (Fancy Pants); letter stickers ( Pink Paislee); journaling spot (Target); buttons and staples

Use buttons to embellish a stamped accent:
028

Here I stamped the tree and added buttons for the “leaves”. You can get really creative with this idea. Use buttons in place of any round element such as a balloon, wheels, lollipop, snowman, etc, etc. Papertrey Ink just came out with a cute new stamp set that is specifically designed for this idea.

029

supplies: card stock, stamp, ink, linen thread, gel pen (Stampin’ Up!); patterned paper, rub on (Scarlet Lime); wood grain overlay (Hambly); letter stickers (American crafts); journaling tag and chipboard accents (Colorbok); lazy days circle tag (My Mind’s Eye); buttons

Add glitter to your buttons for a touch of bling:
031

To make these glitter buttons I startes out with some pale pink buttons and put liquid glue all over the top. Then I smooshed the buttons into a tub of pale pink glitter and left them dry completely before adding them to my page. They are really pretty and glittery in real life. I love how they turned out. So pretty and perfect for a feminine page like this one.
032

supplies: patterned paper, die cuts, border sticker (Basic Grey); journaling tag, letter stickers (Making Memories); lace (Scarlet Lime); buttons

Flatten old coat buttons:
033

I don’t usually use many gold accents on my pages. I prefer the more subdued silver and pewter. I feel like gold is too gaudy for my tastes. But gaudy gold buttons were just the ticket for this pirate page. The buttons have a heavy shank on the back that I wasn’t able to remove. So to make my buttons a bit less bulky I took my hammer and pounded the shank down on the back side. The metal should bend enough to allow the shank to become almost flush with the back of the button.

034

These buttons would look great painted as well for using them on pages that call for something a bit less gaudy. The patterns and textures on the buttons are great and would be fun to use on a vintage page. I’m thinking paint them in vintage white shade and sand them a bit to make the designs show through a bit.

supplies: patterned paper (Stampin’ Up!- skulls and black striped) old map (PSX); ribbon (Satmpin’ Up!); tag (Scarlet Lime); letter stickers (Reminisce); rub ons (Daisy D’s, Making Memories); stamp (Martha Stewart); ribbon (Stampin’ Up!); buttons

Color with markers, stamp them, apply rub ons, use to accent your own hand made embellishments:
035

I used a bunch of fun techniques on this page. I had a lot of cream colored button with a gold trim and thought it would work great to color them with my sharpie markers. I used a blue marker on this one. This is a fun way to customize your buttons to suit your page.
036

For this one I stamped a hounds tooth design on a really flat silver button using white craft paint and embossed it with white embossing powder. I really like this effect. Think of all the possibilities!
039

Got a lot of teeny tiny rub ons left over from a pack and really don’t know how you’ll use them? Add them to your buttons. Again, a great way to cutomize your buttons to suit your page theme.
038

Use buttons to accent your hand made embellishments like I did here with this pom pom flower. Again, lots of possibilities here.
037

supplies: card stock, ink, rub on, embossing powder (Stampin’ Up!); stamp (Hero Arts); transparent overlay (Hambly); rub on (Pink Paislee); scallop journaling spot (making memories); letter stickers (American Crafts); gems (Prima); card stock swirl (Pebbles); fabric for pom pom flower, patterned paper (Scarlet Lime); butterfly punch (Martha Stewart Crafts); thread, buttons, Sharpie markers

I hope you enjoyed this little trip through my button box. Let me know if there’s any fun button technique I missed. Have fun with your stash of buttons and be on the look out for buttons when you’re out shopping at yard sales, flea markets and second hand stores. They’re usually inexpensive and so very fun to use.

Later!

3 thoughts on “Makeover Monday- buttons

  1. Angie Tieman says:

    Wow! YOur work is amazing, as always, and I thoroughly enjoyed the beauty of all of these! I am button crazy myself!!

    p.s. Not sure if you were at Convention or heard, your name was mentioned on the big screen as a finalist/honorable mention for the Artisan Award!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

