Makeover Monday. On Tuesday.


Hello! Hello!

I hope you all had a great holiday weekend. I did. The fireworks display was great, and the time spent with family was wonderful. My children got to spend some time with their great grandparents this weekend, which is a rare occurrence these days since they now live out of state.

For those pf you who are curious to know which baby card I chose for my friend, the answer is the vintage baby card. It was my favorite if all, and even though I feel like hording it I will give it away since that is why I make cards in the first place. šŸ™‚

Also, today I am excited to have one of my projects featured on Scrapscene. They’re doing a few articles on Eco scrapbooking, so be sure to check out all the great ideas! Thanks Scrapscene!!!

For today’s Makeover Monday (or Tuesday, in this case), I am again going to focus on product packaging. Last time we looked at ways to use the card board pieces and backings that come with our scrapbooking supplies, but this time I wanted to find ways to use the clear packaging that a lot of supplies come in. Here is a photo of some of the clear packaging that I used.

001

Mine held brads, double sided adhesive tape, embellishment boxes, etc. You can use clear packaging just the same way that you would use a transparency sheet, so even if you’d like to try some of these ideas and don’t have any spare clear packaging lying around you can use transparencies which are available at office supply stores.

Also, almost all the examples I’m giving you today are used to make cards, but keep in mind that all the techniques I’ll be showing you can just as easily be used for scrapbook pages.

Let’s get started! First off, I punched shapes out of the packaging. Then I used a variety of techniques to dress up the punched shapes. These are a lot like to ghost shapes (Heidi Swapp) you can buy in your local scrapbook store, only a lot cheaper, but if you happen to have some of the ghost shapes on hand you can use those too.

Stamp on the punched shapes. Here I used a flower punch and stamped on them using a script stamp and black Stazon ink.
017

I added some sequins and beads to the centers and used them on this card.
018
supplies:Whisper White and Bermuda Bay card stock and Hello Again and Fresh Cuts stamp sets, Basic Black ink (Stampin’ Up!); Patterned paper (Scarlet Lime); embroidery floss, sequins, beads.

Paint on the edges of the punched shapes. In this case I used two sizes of punched stars.
023

I used a foam brush to lightly apply the yellow ink to the edges. You could paint the whole thing if you wanted to. I added them to this card.
024
supplies: Bermuda Bay, Basic Grey and Whisper White card stock, stars wheel, star punches, white gel pen (Stampin’ Up!); Live Life stamp (Autumn Leaves); acrylic paint (Making Memories)

Next I punched out some butterflies and then ran the punched shapes through my Big Shot using the Cuttlebug Swiss Dots embossing folder. It may be a little hard to see in the photo, but the butterflies have tiny raised dots on them.
020

Then I added them to this card.
021
supplies: Soft Suede, Whisper White, Bermuda Bay and Kiwi Kiss card stock, Soft Suede ink, Baroque Motifs stamp set (Stampin’ Up!); butterfly punch (Martha Stewart crafts), gemstones (A.C. Moore)

After I had punched out those butterflies I used the piece I had punched them out of as a mask for this card. I used sponge daubers to dab on the ink to make my butterflies.
022
supplies: Cute & Curly stamp set, Whisper White, crushed Curry and Bermuda Bay card stock, Bermuda Bay, Old Olive and Basic Black ink, Crushed Curry dotted grosgrain ribbon (Stampin’ Up!); butterfly punch (Martha Stewart Crafts), staples

This one is a fun technique I learned several years ago in a class I took at my local scrapbook store.
015

Select a line art stamp (one that can be colored in) and stamp on your piece of leftover clear packaging (or transparency if that’s what you are using) with Stazon ink. Then run it through a Xyron sticker maker to make the backside sticky. Flip it over so the sticky side is up and dab pigment powders all over the adhesive using a soft brush. I used my now retired Pearl ex powders from Stampin’ Up!, but Ranger makes these too. Theirs are called Perfect Pearls. Now turn your piece over and admire the glossy looking sheen the pigment powders give to your project. It’s really a wow technique that looks difficult but it really isn’t.

Here’s the finished card.
026
supplies: Oriental Brushstrokes and Kanji stamp sets (retired), Marigold Morning, Whisper White and Basic Black card stock, Basic Black ink, Black stazon, corner punch, Pearl Ex powders (Stampin’ Up!); patterned paper (Scarlet Lime)

I also used the clear packaging pieces to make a shaker card.
014

I put sequins in mine but I didn’t make my shaker deep enough so the sequins don’t actually “shake”, but oh well. Next time I know to give it a little more room when using larger pieces such as sequins.
025
supplies: All Holidays stamp set, Barely Banana, Bermuda Bay and Whisper White card stock, Bermuda Bay ink, patterned paper, flower punches, silver brads (Stampin’ Up!); sequins

And, yes, I have a non card (or scrapbooking) idea to show you as well. This one uses one of the little clear boxes some of my brads came in once upon a time. I thought it would make a really cute treat box. Mine holds one whole pack of Tic Tacs.
013
supplies: Whisper White card stock, Green Galore ink, oval punch, linen thread (Stampin’ Up!); patterned paper (Scarlet Lime); ribbon (Target); button

I thought it would also make a great keepsake box for holding small item such as a lock of baby hair. Or how about a neat little box for holding your child’s baby teeth? My kids didn’t keep their teeth because I wasn’t impressed by the thought of having little teeth around that they would be tempted to play with (ick!), but if I would have thought of this sooner, maybe we would have kept them. The little box would allow them to see all their teeth without handling them and they would have the fun of adding their teeth to the container one by one.

You could also use boxes like this for Valentine treats such as conversation hearts and decorate it accordingly. Or put a small photo inside, decorate the outside, and hang from your Christmas tree.

There ya go! I hope I have inspired you to find some ways to use your clear product packaging in your paper crafting projects! Let me know if there’s any more techniques you thought of or have used before and if you think you’d like to use any of these techniques sometime soon.

Have an awesome day!!!

7 thoughts on “Makeover Monday. On Tuesday.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

