Raspberry Suite Color challenge #10


Good Wednesday morning everyone! This week is just racing by! I seriously do not know where the time goes sometimes!

I had so much fun playing along last time with Dawn’s challenge that I thought I’d do it again.
The colors are melon, cream, berry, and dark brown. These colors make me hungry for fresh fruit with whipped cream!

dawn mcvey #10

Aren’t these colors pretty? I pulled out my new Fifth Avenue Floral stamp set that I hadn’t yet gotten a chance to use and inked it up for this challenge. This stamp set has been in the Stampin’ Up! catalog for a while now and it’s one I always thought of getting and then never did. That is until I got to pick some free sets from the Sale-A-Bration promotion and had been seeing some really cool techniques using this stamp set that finally put me over the edge.

041

Isn’t that rose lovely? I stamped the rose onto Pretty in Pink card stock using Basic Brown ink. Then I shaded the petals using Cameo Coral ink and highlighted a few areas with Whisper White ink. Then I painted each petal with a thin layer of crystal effects being sure to brush in the direction of the petal’s growth. I wanted the rose to have a soft sheen.
I cut out a few of the petals and popped them up with dimensionals to give the flower some depth.

043

And you probably can’t really see it in the photos, but I added some “dew drops” using crystal effects to a few of the petals so the rose would have a just-picked-this morning-in-the-early-morning-dew look about it.

After spending so much time trying to paint perfect dew drops in my decorative painting class as a teenager I wonder if my instructor would be proud or horrified of my crystal effect dew drops. πŸ™‚ She would have to be proud of my shading and highlighting abilities, though. After all, I learned them from her.
I remember painting roses much like this, one tiny petal at a time. Each tiny petal being shaded and highlighted just right. Then carefully painting on the dew drops after all the petals were done, just hoping I wouldn’t mess up and wreck all my hard work.

042

Gotta run now. The kids and I are going to get a few groceries before we head off to the pool. Fun fun!

All supplies from Stampin’ Up!: Fifth Avenue Floral, Fresh cuts, and God’s Beauty stamp sets; Cameo Coral, Pretty in Pink and Chocolate Chip card stock; Chocolate Chip, Cameo Coral, Old Olive, Basic Brown and Whisper White ink; Bella Birds designer series paper; ribbon, half pearls, dictionary pages from old dictionary

15 thoughts on “Raspberry Suite Color challenge #10

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

