Sweet Little Cupcake


Last evening I was invited to a surprise baby shower for a friend of mine who is expecting. She has three boys and the baby that she’s expecting is a girl! I wanted to make a little something girlish and sweet for her in celebration of this new baby girl who will enter the world in a couple of months so I made this basket of baby girl goodies with a cupcake theme for her and her baby girl.

The basket is decorated with a bit of patterned paper (Stampin’ Up!) and a little cupcake sticker (Jolee’s Boutique)
0052

Check out these adorable cupcakes! They are made from little socks.
0041
I got the idea from Lauren Meader. You can see her instruction video here. They are so much fun to make. I stitched a button on top of mine with embroidery thread. The thread goes the whole way through from top to bottom to keep it all together. Mine kept falling apart. Probably because I didn’t use two sizes of socks like Lauren recommends. I like the button on top, though. I think it looks like a cute little cherry. it sort of dresses them up a bit.

This is the card I made to go with it.
0012

And the inside:
0023

I love being able to make fun gifts like this using my scrapbook supplies to dress things up and add some flair. Just a bit of paper and a little stamping or some stickers really can bring life to an otherwise just OK idea.
0031

Gotta go. This is my last day to prep and serve the lunch meal at school (thank God!!!). Then tomorrow and Saturday I’m off to a scrapbook retreat at Page By Page. I’m looking forward to scrapping with some great friends and hopefully making some new ones.

Have a good one!

7 thoughts on “Sweet Little Cupcake

  1. Anna-Marie Still says:

    I love your sweet baby gift and, of course, love that it all matches! I posted on my blog a few days ago a picture of a onesie and the matching card I made for Aly who’s on the Advisory Board with me this year – it’s so fun to be inspired by a gift and make a matching card to go with it! Thanks for sharing!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

