Makeover Monday- yellow


Good Monday morning peeps! How are you all?

It’s the first Monday of April so that means it’s time for me to share a new Makeover Monday project with you again.

This month’s project was inspired by this project by Ali Edwards (I just love that old type case!)
and this project by Knack. When I saw this frame my jaw dropped. I absolutely LOVE it!!!

So while I was shopping at my local Goodwill store scrounging around for something I could give a new life to, I came across this piece which was probably used to display some kind of little knick-knack collection who knows how long ago.

0021

When I saw it I was immediately reminded of Ali’s type case and I figured, since I don’t know if I’ll ever own an old type case like that, that this could serve as the same type of thing, only on a smaller scale.

So I brought it home with me, cleaned it up a bit, and then began thinking about what color I wanted it to be. I wanted this to be a fun and funky project so my mind went to bright, happy, fun colors. It came down to either teal or yellow, and since I loved that painted yellow frame so much I went with that.

Instead of adding all photos like Ali did I decided to fill some of the openings with some of my favorite patterned papers from my stash of leftover pieces. Another great way to use up those scraps!

And this is the end result:
0011

Every time I look at this piece my mind starts playing that song “Yellow” by Coldplay. Hee!

The funny thing is that I used to hate the color yellow! It’s only been within the past year or so that I have begun to like it and then love it, and then crave it and look for ways to use it in my projects. Maybe it has something to do with these long winter months and my longing for warmth and sunshine that I am so drawn to this color, but whatever the reason I am finding that these days yellow just makes me happy.

I don’t have a place to hang this piece at the moment. I think I will save it for the day that I get a new studio. See, I know how I want my studio to look. Lots of white accented by fun, vibrant colors everywhere. I can see it in my mind and I love it!

Here are a few close ups for you.
0022

003

My seven year old son, Isaiah would love it if I tell you all that he helped me paint this. Since we had to put on a couple coats of primer and then a couple coats of paint I figured it couldn’t hurt. I could cover up any goof ups by the time we go to the final coat of paint. We were busy painting when he proudly said “now you can tell everyone that your son helped you paint this!”. I had to smile to myself a little.

Anyway, yesterday a new sketch went up at 52 sketches.
sketch-14-p001

Here’s the page I completed for this week’s sketch.
sketch-14

Be sure to head on over to 52 sketches 52 weeks to see what three of the other design team members came up with using this sketch. Then join in the fun by creating a page using this ketch and uploading it to the 52 sketches gallery to be eligible to win this fabulous prize by Kenner Road.

090315a1_1

Sweet! I wish I could win this. I think it’s wonderful. Check out Kenner Road’s website for some great scrapbooking kits and fun vintage inspired stuff.

Gotta run! Catch you all later.

5 thoughts on “Makeover Monday- yellow

  1. kolleen seibel says:

    oh brenda , you never cease to amaze me!!! WOW the craft thing was neat ! I love old stuff . I am antique junky πŸ™‚
    I am looking forward to thursday night ! I am always looking for new inspriration ! πŸ™‚ hugs kolleen

  2. Lisa says:

    I love your yellow frame, it’s got me thinking about an old shadow box that my dad made for me….I love the yellow and i love all the dsp you used with the pictures, it’s great!

  3. crystal says:

    brenda, love your project. the funny thing is we used to have a piece exactly like that on our wall growing up. wouldn’t that be funny if it was the same one.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

