Simple Elegance- CI challenge #45


Hey everyone!

What a weeks it’s been! I have had at least two sick males in my house all week long, starting with my two boys who each missed three days of school, and then my husband who is currently battling severe congestion and sore throat. So it’s been quite a week because we all know how the male species reacts to sickness, don’t we! Granted, they were all feeling really crummy, but that meant extra time spent taking care of my invalids and less time to get creative.

I did get to work on a couple of things, some of which I can share with you.

Last night I went out with a friend. Yes, I left all my sick peeps at home to share in each others’ misery!
Anyway, my friend and I went to a coffee and dessert tasting event her church was putting on for the women of her church and any friends they wanted to invite. It was a fun evening and the time away from home (and sickness) and the delicious desserts and coffee, not to mention being able to spend time with my friend and other women again, were exactly what I needed. My spirit and body felt refreshed and that was good!

After I came home I quickly sat down and whipped up a couple of cards for Kristina’s Color Inspiration Challenge.

There are only three colors this time: Basic Gray, Basic Black, and Whisper White, for a monochromatic color scheme.

031109-colors1

Since I didn’t want to spend a lot of time on these cards I stuck with a simple design and used the same design for both cards.

This one uses the Fresh Cuts set (Stampin’ Up!). I often struggle with this set, but I thought it worked well for this design.

0024

This one uses one of my current favorites, Grand Soiree (Stampin’ Up!). I absolutely love this chandelier image. It makes it virtually effortless to create stunning, elegant cards and even scrapbook pages. The set comes with an “Isn’t life Grand” sentiment, but other sentiments I have used or am thinking of using with this set are “you light up my life”, “let your light shine”, and “fabulous”. I’m sure there are dozens of great sentiments you could pair with this stamp set if you really think about it.

0042

We might have a couple of weddings to attend this summer, so I think I’ll be saving both of these cards for that. The black, white and gray color scheme just looks sophisticated.

0052

I think it’s neat how even though I used the same color scheme and same basic design that each card still has it’s own unique look and feel just by switching out the stamp set used.

Anyway, I’m off to put my little girl to bed for her afternoon nap and get the sick ones tucked in with lots of extra water and tissues and then I am off to my scrap space get some stamping done!

Have a fabulous weekend!

4 thoughts on “Simple Elegance- CI challenge #45

  1. Donna says:

    hi Brenda! The ribbon on both of your cards looks so fabulous. I absolutely love it! Sorry to hear of your family! When my daughter and her brood left they ended up getting influenza A and have felt crummy now for the past week. I spoke to the 18 month old today and she is really giving her mom a hard time, with all the whinning. LOL! She needs to learn she is of the female species and toughen up LOL! Have a great weekend~Donna

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

