pouch card how-to


There have been some questions on my pouch card and scratch and sniff cards I did in this post so I thought I’d take some time to show you all how it was done just in case you want to make some of your own.

For the chocolate scratch and sniff card I used a mixture of 1 measuring teaspoonful of sugar free chocolate pudding mix and 1-1/2 teaspoonfuls of clear embossing powder. I also tried sugar free hot cocoa mix instead of the pudding mix, but I liked how the pudding mix turned out better. I have to say, though, that using chocolate pudding mix or hot cocoa mix did not produce as strong of a scent as I would have wished. If someone has a better idea for making chocolate scratch and sniff powder, please do tell!

On to the pouch card.
Start with a regular 4-1/4″ x 5-1/2″ size card. You will also need a piece of card stock in the same color as your card base that measures 6″ x 4-3/4″.
016

Score the 6″ x 4-3/4″ piece at 1/4″ along each 6″ side.
020

On the 6″ sides measure and mark one side at 2″ and the other side at 4″.
0211

0221

Align your paper in your paper cutter with the marks at the cutting groove and cut apart. This will give you two equal sized pieces of paper, enough for two pouch cards.
0231

0241

Fold the scored sides up with the 4″ side on your left. Use sticky strip adhesive on the 1/4″ scored sides and a strip along the bottom.
0271

Attach to the inside of your card.
031

Now you can tuck a treat inside, such as a packet of Hershey’s hot cocoa mix like I did, or anything small like a pack of gum, some stickers, coupons or tickets, some little love notes, or some candy. It’s amazing how many things you could actually fit into this small pouch. If you keep it flat enough it will fit into a standard size envelope.
030

Don’t forget to decorate the outside of your card! 🙂
029

Happy creating! I’ll be back later this week with some fun Valentine’s Day treat holders.

4 thoughts on “pouch card how-to

  1. kolleen seibel says:

    Ohhh Brenda you are soooooooo creative. Whenever i need some a incentive I look at your blog 🙂
    I cant wait to see what is coming around the corner .
    Have a splendid day !!! kolleen

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

