Introducing Makeover Monday


Happy Monday, everyone!

I don’t know about you, but I am ready to get back into a regular routine again. Holidays sure are fun, but it always feels good to get back into the swing of things again. My house will seem very quiet this week since the boys headed back to school again today and my hubs is getting ready to leave on a business trip. So we will go back to just my little girl and me during the day.

First off I want to say a big Congrats to Jen D. She was the winner of my blog candy giveaway. Jen, I emailed you. Thanks to all of you who stopped by and let me know what your plans are for 2009. I wish all of you the best as you work toward your goals. You CAN do it!!!

Now, on to something I’ve been wanting to share with you. I have decided to start a new feature on my blog called Makeover Monday. I’m going  to start out with doing it monthly, so the first Monday of every month here on my blog will be Makeover Monday. Let me tell you a little more.

I have a passion for finding fun ways to use up scraps instead of throwing them out. As a paper crafter I’m sure you understand wanting to get the most out of your supplies. I want to be clear, though. I am not a hoarder. My craft sapce is not filled up with all kinds of useless junk in hopes that I will one day find a use for it. Not only do I not have the space for that, but it would literally drive me nuts. The things I save are scraps of paper too pretty to throw out and cool bits of leftover stufff from packaging, etc. I’ll show you more about that in a bit.

I also enjoy browsing the isles of my local discount grocer and thrift stores for stuff that can be decorated and repurposed into something beautiful. Trash to Treasure idea.

So what I am going to do on Makeover Mondays is to show you some fun ways to use those things you might not otherwise think to use in your paper crafting projects. I have done some leftover makeovers in the past. They can give you a better understanding of what I am trying to accomplish. You will find them here and here.

I”m inviting you to join me in creating projects for Makeover Monday. If you’d like to show me your Makeover Monday creations you can post a comment with a link to your blog post or other site (such as SCS). I’d love to have you play along with me, and I’d sure love to see what you all are inspired to create!

OK, with all that being said, let me show you today’s Makeover Monday project.

I made this album to give to my husband this year for Christmas. It’s an album just about us and our lives and love we have for each other. This would also make a great Valentine’s Day gift for that special someone.

The cover of this album is really what I want to show you for this month’s Makeover Monday.

089

I started out with an 81/2″x81/2″ chipboard album from Stampin’ Up! I had saved the negative chipboard pieces from chipboard letters with all the letters punched out. The one I used was from the Lots of Letters package from Stampin’ up! with the circlular letter shapes.

Here’s a square one left over from the same package so you get the idea.

0041

After I attached the piece left over from the letters to the album cover I covered everything with a few layers of black acrylic paint. When the paint was dry I brushed a couple of very light coats of crystal effects over the top to give it a bit of shine.

088

I thought it looked a little too harsh with it all just being black so I punched some circles out of patterned paper and inserted them into a row of the circle indentations on the front cover.

090

The results are a funky, fun, masculine album that my husband was thrilled to receive. I’ll be back tomorrow to share a few of the pages from the album.

There ya go! Have fun using your leftover supplies to create beautiful, one-of-a-kind masterpieces, and thanks for letting me share this first Makeover Monday with you!

3 thoughts on “Introducing Makeover Monday

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

