Gettin’ back in the groove


With Christmas now behind us I hope you all had a wonderful holiday with your family and loved ones.

We had a wonderful, pretty low key, Christmas. We spent Christmas Eve at home with our kids and opened our gifts. I think this year we got the best response from opening gifts ever. We don’t spend a lot on gifts but each child pretty much got just what they wanted and it was a lot of fun seeing their excitement.

Christmas Day was spent with my husband’s family. We enjoyed my Father-In-Law’s wonderful grilled steaks and shrimp. Yummmm!!! Then we opened more gifts. Well, the kids did. We kind of gave up giving gifts among the adults a year or so ago. Aside from my daughter being grumpy that day and me having to change her outfit at least twice (once from playing outside in the mud and the other from a toilet accident) and trying to unsuccessfully get her to take a much needed nap at Grandmas, the day was fun. The guys played poker until we hauled them away to play a game the older kids could help with.

I’m having a bit of a hard time getting back into the groove again. I enjoyed the time away from doing anything crafty for a change but I haven’t got much to show you now either. With the kids home from school it’s been harder to find the time to spend crafting as well, so that will hopefully change when they return to school next week.

Last weekend I sequestered my husband to the basement where we began a long anticipated reorganization project. My hubby and I share the main part of our basement with one side being his office (which he rarely uses these days) and the other side being my craft area. We also have a bedroom for our boys and an open play area down there as well. We threw away so much stuff that had just been accumulating for the last few years and cleared off a table that he really no longer needed so I could add it to my space. It makes me so happy to have an expanded work area! The only thing that could be better than that would be to have my own craft room, but, well, that’s gonna have to wait a while.

So the last few days I’ve been trying to make sense of all the piles and boxes of stuff in my craft space and get it all organized before I get back into making stuff. I know once I put it aside once it will be so easy for me to just ignore it for months, so it would be in my best interest to get it taken care of now.

A few days before Christmas one of my friends asked me to help her with making some thank you tags for Christmas. She wanted a black and white theme so this is what I came up with.

087

She wanted to be able to attach them to a candle so I punched two slots in the top to thread a ribbon through. That makes it easy to wrap a ribbon around a candle and through the slots or to tie to the handle of a gift back, or just to knot and slip into an envelope.

All supplies used in this project are from Stampin’ Up! except for the patterned paper which, unfortunately, I don’t remember who makes it. Don’t you just love that Top note die? It is so versatile and can be used in so many great ways. I think this has to be one of my top 5 favorite items from Stampin’ Up! EVER! Love it!!!

I can’t believe that tomorrow is the last day of 2008! The years just keep on going by faster and faster. Like our speaker said at church on Sunday “It’s almost Christmas!”.  Ain’t that the truth? Christmas 2009 will be here before we know it. But before that there are so many other things to celebrate, like Valentine’s Day.

I’m going to leave you today with a card I made using the leftover pieces from the aforementioned thank you tags. You all know how I like to use my leftovers (grin).

085

I wanted to thank you all so much for stopping by and visiting my lil ol blog. This has been a fun year of learning the ins and outs of blogging and sharing all my projects with you. All of you wonderful people have helped me hit the 10,000 hits mark and I am so honored by that! Thank you!!! I will be back in the next day or two with a fun giveaway to celebrate this milestone. Until then, happy crafting!!!

2 thoughts on “Gettin’ back in the groove

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

