December Daily album


Hello everyone. It’s good to be back blogging again after my absence over the Thanksgiving Holiday. I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving with your loved ones. We did. My husband’s sister and her husband and three kids were visiting from Georgia. They arrived on Wednesday (they were staying at my in-law’s house) and they left on Monday. We spent every day at my husband’s parents house just enjoying each others’ company and indulging ourselves on my MIL’s wonderful food. My mother-in-law happens to be one of the best cooks in the world! Seriously!

So with all that going on I just didn’t have any time to spend scrapbooking or making cards. But now I’m back and happy to be here again.

If you’ve never visited Ali Edward’s blog you really must. She always has these terrific ideas for simple and quick scrapbooking projects. This is the second year, I think, that she has done the December Daily album. The idea is to get the album completed before December with a page or so for each day in December. Then you can just add your photos each day and have a completed Christmas album by the time Christmas is over.

Well, I didn’t quite get mine completed before December, but I had all the supplies and the idea in my head, so yesterday I quickly put it all together and got started. Today I scrapbooked my first page which was about the kids and I putting up our Christmas decorations yesterday.

I started out with an old…. well, I don’t even really know what it is. I found this “thing” at the Salvation army thrift store and picked it up because I figured it would make a really terrific table top mini album. I’m guessing it was used to either hold receipts or addresses or something like that. if any of you have any guesses as to what it may have been used for, please enlighten me.

001

It has a linen cover reinforced with leather on the edges and it is adjustable. There is a little latch thingy on the side that opens up and allows the top cover to slide up on those two metal rods. It can hold a lot. This will be beneficial to me if I want to add a lot of pages to my album. No need to worry about running out of space.

This is what it looks like on the inside with no pages added.

002

I thought the colors of this book were a pretty good match to the I Wish Simply Scrappin Kit from Stampin’ Up! And, since I wanted my album to be quick and easy, I thought a scrapboooking kit would be a great way to go.

I made some simple pages out of thin chipboard and covered each side with card stock and patterned paper from the kit. I kept these very simple and quick because the kit comes with all these fabulous self-adhesive die cuts that I will be using to embellish the pages once I get the pictures in. Also because the whole idea is to keep it simple and quick so you can actually get a page completed each day in a short amount of time.

003

I punched holes along the edge so I could insert them into my album. Here’s what it looks like with all the pages inside.

004

And here is my finished first page!

005

The kids and I had fun getting out our decorations and making the house look pretty. We haven’t gotten a tree yet. That will have to wait until Saturday.

4 thoughts on “December Daily album

  1. Karen says:

    great find and cute idea!! your ‘find’ looks like it might have been for business checks?? that was the first thing I thought of when I saw the picture.

    Can’t wait to see your other pages!!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

