Leftover Makeover part 1


Wow! It’s been way too long since I’ve been able to post anything new here. Life has been so hectic the last several weeks. But the kids have started back to school now (today was the first day for my kids) and things should slow down a bit for a while.

If you are anything like me you probably have a stash of leftover bits and pieces of stuff from projects you have done. I tend to keep pretty much anything that I think may be useful someday. I keep it for about a year at least. Then I figure if I haven’t found a use for it in a year I probably won’t ever and in the trash it goes.

Now that we are all trying to be a little more green and reuse and recycle as much as possible I try even harder to use things up to limit the amount of stuff that gets put into my trash can.

This project is made from my leftovers. You know how it is when you buy a sheet of chipboard letters? You punch out the letters and are left with the negative space. Well, I’m going to show you a great way to use up those pieces and hopefully spur your creativity to find even more ways to use your leftovers.

This is the sheet leftover from my chipboard letters. These are from Stampin’ Up! You’ll notice that the top part is missing. That’s the piece I used.

I backed the letter openings with various pieces of patterned paper (also from my stash of leftovers).

I left the strip of letters intact because, since it was a 12″x12″ chipboard sheet, I knew it would perfectly fit the entire length of my layout. You could also cut around each letter and use them separately.

Then I traced around each letter opening with a black marker to make it stand out a bit more.

And here’s the completed layout. It’s even school themed! How about that?

Over the next few weeks I plan to share more fun ways to use those pieces that might otherwise get thrown away. I’d love to hear your ideas for using leftovers. Leave a comment to share how you do your part to recycle your leftovers.

Recipe: Card stock: Bazzill; chipboard: Stampin’ Up!; patterned paper: various companies; felt apples: Target; sticker: Jolees; marker: Stampin’ Up!

7 thoughts on “Leftover Makeover part 1

  1. Brandi Wiggins says:

    Wow, wow, WOW!!! I love this idea! Geez, I gotta start making more SU! scrap layouts. I’ve only made one all SU! page. I look at your pages and I’m blown away at your creativity. Prepeare to be blog stalked, my friend. LOL!

  2. Katy says:

    See, I knew I was saving those spent chipboard sheets for a reason! I don’t really scrapbook but this is such a cute idea I might have to start. Thanks for sharing!!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

