watercolor series: color outside the lines


001

Hello and welcome to the first installment of my water color series!

I just love water coloring and have been having so much fun exploring ways to use water colors in my paper crafting. I thought I’d share with you some of my favorite water color techniques. I hope you’ll come along with me on this little journey through the fabulous world of water colors. We’ll look at different ways to use water colors, so hopefully you’ll pick up something new along the way.

I don’t plan to explore the many different types of water colors out there. There are a lot. You can buy water color pencils, crayons, paints, etc. etc. I simply plan to look at some of the different techniques you can use. Maybe at some point I will take it upon myself to write a post about the different water coloring options there are out there. But that’s a post for another time.

Water colors are a messy, casual look, and maybe that’s part of the reason I love them so much. It’s hard to mess them up! Remember when you were little and you were taught to color inside the lines? Well, we’re going to throw that right out the window today, because when it come to water coloring, the messier the better and staying inside the lines is actually not necessarily encouraged.

002I started off by heat embossing my image with black embossing powder. I like to emboss my image when water coloring so that the image stays crisp and well defined when layering the water colors on top. But embossing is not necessary, so you can do whatever you wish for your desired results. Just make sure to use a water proof ink if you plan to not heat emboss your image.

Then I got busy with my water coloring. I used a water color palette I found at my local art store. It comes with lots of different colors in little pots. I love them! It reminds me of the water color coloring books I used to love as a child where you wet your brush and pick up the color from the little spots of paint on the page. The colors here are much more vibrant, of course, and I love that you can mix in more water to tone it down, or really pick up lots of paint for more vibrancy.

The trick is to not worry too much about those lines. It’s a little tough, actually. Especially for those of us who happen to be perfectionists. The idea of coloring outside the lines can be a little frightening. but I promise you, the more you can let loose a little, the better the end results will be!

003I decided to “mess” it up even more by dropping big drops of ink from my brush onto the finished image. You should let your image dry first before doing this if you want to keep your drops of paint from running into your already painted part. I didn’t let it dry completely before dripping on the black paint, and at first that big black blob on the flower petal bothered me. But I decided to embrace it as just part of the fun of the water coloring. But next time I would definitely give it a little more time to dry. That’s what I get for being impatient! If you are impatient like me, you can always use your heat tool to help speed up the drying process.

What’s your favorite water coloring technique?

Thanks for joining me today, and I hope you’ll come back next time when we’ll explore more water coloring fun!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “watercolor series: color outside the lines

  1. So pretty! I like the ‘messy’ look. I don’t have a favorite water color technique per se. It depends on my mood, the purpose of the card, the image. I’m a dabbler.

  2. That’s really pretty. Love the papers behind the main one and the splatters. I have trouble colouring outside the lines too. I got some Inktense pencils for Christmas and I am enjoying all sorts of techniques with them, splattering included.

  3. Pingback: watercolor series- two techniques in one! | Sweet Paper Treats

  4. Pingback: Watercolor series: layers | Sweet Paper Treats

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

