Reader of the month winner! And a sympathy card.


So it seems I’m going to have to go in two entirely different directions with today’s post. I have the Reader of the Month winner for you today. And I also have a sympathy card to share.  One thing’s fun. One thing’s not so much fun.

Let’s do the winner/fun stuff first, then we’ll get on to the card. Sound like a plan?

July’s Reader of the Month random winner is:

Candace who said:

“such a pretty set of cards!!”

Congratulations, Candace! I’ve sent you an email!

For the rest of you who are still hoping to win one of these months, here’s another chance for you! This month I’m giving away this set from Market Street Stamps:

 

You know, fall is approaching! I’m looking forward to the cooler weather. I’m also looking forward to camping, and roasting marshmallows over a crackling fire while we sit and chat long into the night. Here’s your chance to win an adorable camping set from MSS. All comments left within the month of August will be entered into the drawing for this stamp set. Thanks so much for your visits here and your comments. They mean SO much!!

Now on to the card. We’ve, unfortunately, had to send out a couple of sympathy cards this week. One for a business acquaintance who lost his wife, and the other for a young family who tragically lost their son. Our hearts go out to these families in their times of grief and loss.

I made two of this same card to send to these families.

 

I used a lot of oldies but goodies on this card. I mentioned I was moving my craft space and going through some things. Well, let’s just say there are a lot of items in my craft area that haven’t gotten their share of love and attention. I want to change that. I’m determined to go through my stash more often and use up those old things instead of always reaching for the new. Through designing for publications I’ve gotten too used to reaching for the new, current products and have just been letting the older stuff languish. So, I’m happy to say that I used three, make that four, older products on this card! The metal clip, the gingham ribbon, and two retired stamp sets from Stampin’ Up!

The patterned paper, card stock, and ink are the only current products I used on this card. I sanded the edges of the patterned paper for a softer, faded look. I wasn’t sure if such a cheery yellow was appropriate for a sympathy card, but I think that sanding the edges gives it a softer and more soothing feel. In the end I thought it worked out fine. A nice amount of cheerfulness without being a slap in the face. What do you think?

Some random things before I go.

- I can see the tops of my black eyed Susan’s against the brilliant blue sky from my basement window. That makes me happy. The world looks brilliant after all the rain we just had.

-I’m SO excited about some news that I’m soon going to be allowed to share. Just another couple of days! Squeee! Giddy!

-I’m super nervous about an interview I agreed to do for a local magazine. I don’t even know why I agreed. I hate doing things like that! I just found out they want to do the interview in person so they’ll have better audio. I’m not sure if that means there will be an audio version somewhere of the interview or not, but it sounds that way. I’m pretty bad at asking the pertinent questions at the appropriate times. But anyway, wish me well. I’ll be busy biting my nails and waking up with night sweats!

-I’m ready for school to start. It’s always the same around here every year. The kids are fine and get along well, for the most part, until the last few weeks of summer. Then they fight and bicker over every. little. thing!! That’s when I know. It’s time for school to begin again. Plus the fact that I’m super ready for a more regular routine again. Yes, even though that means I’ll be getting up at 5:30 in the morning! I’m ready. The supplies have been bought. The uniforms are almost all ready to go. We’re counting down. It’s time.

Hope you’re having a fabulous week! And hope you have an even more fabulous weekend!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

 


also used:
metal clip: Stampin’ Up!(retired)
gingham ribbon: Stampin’ Up! (retired)
stamp sets: Stampin Up! (retired)

6 thoughts on “Reader of the month winner! And a sympathy card.

  1. Love the idea of using up some supplies. I have promised myself that I will use some of the wonderful supplies I already own..

  2. I think a little bit of cheery color on a sympathy card is helpful. This was a really nice card and would work for other occations by just changing up the sentiment.

  3. Sorry you had to make 2 sympathy cards..i am sure receiving them will bring some comfort. The design is very clean and simple just perfect.

  4. This kind of card is so hard to make. It is hard to come up with a sublte design, yours is lovely, TFS Brenda, I hear you, I am ready for my child to go back to school even if that means ” stomach knots” because my “baby” wants to ride the bus and that makes me uneasy; but I am praying for a great year so I will try not to worry much ;), Best of luck with the interview, you will do great!
    Have a blessed day!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

