Twisted Cards #56- Be Happy


It’s Twisted Sketches day here at Sweet paper Treats! Thanks for joining me! This week’s twist is “yellow” and you’ll find the sketch and design team inspiration here.

Perhaps I should claim this card for myself. The sunny yellow seems to contradict the rainy, dreary day outside and all this unending rain is making me a bit grumpy! Spring has been all too shy about showing her face around here. We’ve had no more than a couple of days of actual springlike weather and every day that I wake up and see more rain it makes me groan inside. Yes, I think I am complaining. And stomping my foot too. Very mature, I know. I keep telling myself that with all these April showers there’s bound to be a plethora of May flowers coming our way!! And that our grass better not be turning brown from the summer heat until, like, September or something.

The kids and I decided not to have our Easter party this morning, but opted to wait another week in hopes that we could have it outside. And it really doesn’t matter to have an Easter party a week after Easter anyway. It can, and should, be celebrated at any time. Besides, it’s still spring and it’s kind of a celebration of spring as well as Easter.

I’m going to try to share the pictures from our Easter egg hunt tomorrow, so if you’re interested in seeing them stop on by. I have the cutest nieces and nephews in the world, so cute kid pics coming up!

I got the OK to share the card I made for the Sketches 4 Cards iPhone app! Yep, I made just one little old card this time. It was all i had time to squeeze out at the time. You can find out more about the app by clicking here. Any of you that are familiar with Anam Stubbington‘s sketches (she’s the one who designs the sketches for Twisted Sketches) will know that these sketches are super fun and will give you a ton of card making inspiration. I urge you to check it out if that’s something you would find useful. Here’s my little old card as it appears on the app.

And just to let you all know the results from my poll. 60% of you said that you enjoy seeing a combination of cards, scrapbook layouts and other crafty things, so it looks like I’m pretty much on track with what most of you would like to see me share here. I’m always open for feedback, though, so if you have a request for something you’d like me to share, please, please, let me know. OK?

Thanks to all of you who took the time to take my polls. It was fun to learn more about you! I appreciate each and every one of you, whether you are a crafter or not, whether you are a lurker or a frequent commenter. Although I have to say that it would make my day for all you lurkers to come on over and say “hello” sometime so I can “meet” you!

Also, I wanted to respond to this comment by Jayne:

the eggs look fab and love the LO. But I have never heard of chocolate whoopie pies and they sound great (mind, anything with chocolate does!) Will u post the recipe?

Jayne, I would be delighted to share the whoopie pie recipe for you, but I must warn you that these can be a little addicting! Jayne, and anyone else who is interested, you will find the recipe at the end of this post.

I’m going to run along and do some cooking today. We’ve got friends coming over for dinner tonight. I’m hoping the rain goes away long enough for Eric to do some grilling. On tonight’s menu we have:
Black Jack Chicken
Coleslaw
Sweet and Sour Beans
Garlic Potato Wedges

and for dessert:
Peachy Rhubarb Pie (my specialty)
cupcakes for the kids

So, I’ve got a day of cooking and cleaning happening here. I’m not cooking a special Easter meal. My mother-in-law cooked an Easter dinner for us last Sunday and a couple of days ago I made a huge ham served with asparagus and mashed red potatoes, so we’ve already been covered in the Easter dinner department. I think we’ll have leftover Black Jack Chicken tomorrow, assuming there are any leftovers.
How about you? Do you have any Easter goings on happening at your house this weekend? I’d love to hear about your family’s Easter traditions.

Thanks so much for stopping by! You all are so very much appreciated!

CHOCOLATE WHOOPIE PIE RECIPE
2 cups suger
1 cup oil
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
2 teaspoons vanilla
4 cups flour
1 cup cocoa
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup boiling water
2 teaspoons baking soda

Mix sugar, oil, eggs, buttermilk and vanilla. Blend well (note: I mix this by hand, since that’s the only way i can get them to turn out well, but you can certainly try mixing them with your mixer too). Dissolve baking soda in boiling water and add last. Mix well. Drop by spoonfuls onto cookie sheets. Bake at 375 for approximately 10 minutes. Place a dollop of filling between two cookies. I like to wrap each whoopie pie seperately in a piece of plastic wrap so they don’t stick together. Also, if they’re individually wrapped they become super moist and yummy.

WHOOPIE PIE FILLING
2 egg whites
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 tablespoon flour
4 tablespoons milk
1 cup solid vegetable shortening (such as Crsico)
4 cups confectioner’s sugar

Beat egg whites until stiff. Add vanilla, flour, milk, shortening, and 2 cups sugar. Beat well. Add remaining 2 cups suger. Beat well. Place a dollop between two whoopie pie cookies. Wrap each in plastic wrap.

Note: I actually am able to buy the filling at my local discount grocer, beings that I live in the Amish community where whoopie pies are popular. I prefer that over the filling that contains raw egg whites. I also found this recipe for whoopie pie filling that uses marshmallow fluff instead of the raw egg white. I haven’t tried it, so I can’t vouch for the recipe at all. You could also do a search for whoopie pie fillings without raw egg white and see what comes up.

4 thoughts on “Twisted Cards #56- Be Happy

  1. Your “yellow” card is fabulous Brenda! I love how the yellow flower pops so beautifully on the card. Your Sketches 4 Cards card is so cute too! I love the red polka dot paper and the tree. :)

    Easter was a total rain out here in Oklahoma so there was no massive Easter Egg Hunt like we do every year. However, it was very much welcomed rain as we have been under drought like conditions for months. The last moisture we really had was back in December with lots of snow!

    Happy Easter to you and your family Brenda!

  2. Loving both the cards you shared today. The whoopie pies sound amazing but seriously bad for you! We celebrated our Easter with wonderful friends…kids running everywhere, hunting for eggs followed by a delicious meal…can’t beat it, even if it was rainy and cold!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

