SSD Feature Friday- Easter treats & a tutorial


Hello and good morning!
Did you know that every Friday is Feature Friday at Skipping Stones Design and every week one of the design team members features and older stamp set on their blog? Well, today it’s my turn to be the Feature Friday host and I’m excited to share today’s project with you!

I chose to use the Garden Stamp Kiss set this time. I love the simple elements in this set. The cute bird and butterfly and the other designs that can be used for stamp kissing, to make your own backgrounds, and lots of other ways too!

We’re gearing up to celebrate Easter, as many of you probably are as well. Tomorrow the kids and I, and hubby if he is able, are gong to have a little Easter party. We’re going to decorate, eat, and have fun together. So I made these little treat bags to serve double duty as table decorations and also provide some sweet treats for snacking on throughout the day.

I’m really into birds this year for some reason, so all my spring decor has to do with birds, nests, eggs, cages, feathers, etc. Anything bird related. The sweet bird in the Garden Stamp Kiss set was perfect for my theme.

Did you happen to see those little burlap nests at the top of the bags?

I was so excited when the idea for these little nests came to mind. I rarely come up with an original idea all on my own, and they turned out so cute! I will have a card published in a couple of months in Paper Crafts that will feature on of these darling little nests, so keep your eyes open for it.

It’s not rocket science. These are really simple and easy to make and you probably could figure it out on your own, but I thought I’d provide you with a little tutorial today, just for the fun of it.

First, you’ll need three circles of burlap. Just cut them by hand, they don’t have to be precise. Eyeball ‘em. You could use more than three if you wanted a fuller looking nest, but i like to use three on mine.

Pull some of the fibers out on each side of each circle. It’s ok if some of the fibers come out of the middle too. just not too many. You want it to look “twiggy”, but you need them to be able to hold a glue dot as well.

Now begin to stack them on top of one another with the smallest circle on top and the largest at the bottom. I just use large glue dots to hold mine together. you could use liquid glue or stitch them if you wanted.
And I like to vary the directions of the fibers so they’re not all running the same way.

Add some pearls to the center to mimic the eggs and you’re done! Cute, right?

Now you can add them to your cards, scrapbook pages, tags, gifts, and even hair accessories. Sky’s the limit!
Here are a couple of other versions I made.

The one on the left is the one I just showed you. the one in the middle was made with burlap that had previously been brushed with white paint. i love the shabby look of that one. The one on the right is a miniature version.

You still have a little time to make some of these for adding to your Easter projects, but if you;re done with your Easter crafting these little guys would still work well for spring, which should stick around for a little while yet. Enjoy!

Oh, and speaking of Skipping Stones Design, did you notice they were featured on the Moxie Fab World blog yesterday? How fun! And to celebrate their Moxie Fab status they’re offering a 20% off sale for a limited time! Enter the code mox20 at the checkout to receive your 20% discount!!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “SSD Feature Friday- Easter treats & a tutorial

  1. Pingback: Featured Friday Stamp Set — Skipping Stones Design

  2. What awesomely adorable little nests! I keep moving two bags of feathers around on my desk and wondering what I can do with them. NOW you’ve given me a great idea! Wonder if I’ve got any burlap lying around…..? Thanks for sharing your talent!

  3. Such an adorable idea, I love it!! Thanks for sharing with us. Your goodie bags are adorable too, but everyone cant wait to tuck in!!

  4. Your little burlap nests are perfect! I looked everywhere for a tiny nest for my Cardabilities DT project that will be posted this next week, and I finally had to resort to my own creation! I have to tell you, the burlap is a great idea!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

