Last minute gift idea


Hey there! I know many of you are busy getting last minute shopping done and putting the final touches on your hand made gifts and cards. But I thought I’d share with you the cards and gifts I made for my sons to give to their teachers today, just in case there’s a last minute gift you need to hand out to some special people.

First the cards. Let me just start off by saying that I cheated just a tiny bit. I needed something quick and, yes, I’ll admit it, I was getting a little tired of making Christmas stuff and just wanted to be done already! So when I saw these beautiful downloadable gift tags on the Dear Lillie blog I knew I had found the solution to making some beautiful, quick and simple cards for the school teachers. Thanks, Dear Lillie!!

Here are the cards. I printed out the Silent Night tags, adhered them to a dark brown card and then simply added some ribbon and called it done.

A beautiful pinkish red ribbon for the female teachers and green polka dot ribbon for the male teachers.
Here’s a close up look at the pretty script.

As a simple hand made gift for the teachers I decided on hot chocolate on a stick. You may have seen this before, but I saw it for the first time last year around Christmas, thought it was genius, and knew I had to make some of my own this year. I used this recipe and it turned out great!

I packaged them into simple stamped brown paper sacks because that was all I had on hand. Half a dozen hot chocolate sticks fit nicely into each sack. A coordinating ribbon and a tag to explain the contents finished it off.

It’s rich, but it’s really good! Each batch makes 36 servings, so you get a lot! I made two batches of the hot chocolate on a stick. One for the teachers and the other for us to enjoy and to share with family on Christmas Day.

So, if you’re looking for a fun Christmas treat to make or need a last minute gift to hand out, this may be it. it’s been declared a winner at our house!

Also, a friend shared this on facebook today and I think it’s just so cute. It made me smile. Actually it made me laugh out loud. So I thought I’d pass it along to you to enjoy as well.

Happy 3 days before Christmas!!!

supplies: card stock: Stampin’ Up!; ribbon: Stampin’ Up!, Papertrey ink; print out: Dear Lillie

5 thoughts on “Last minute gift idea

  1. Oh you enabler, you, LOL! That looks soooo delish, esp since I’m somewhat of a chocoholic. Yikes. I may need to make some for…um, us, LOL. Bet the teachers loved it!

  2. I love the idea of the hot chocolate on a stick and your cards are gorgeous. The video was awesome…..so cute!! It made me laugh out loud, too.

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

