12 cards for Christmas- card #9


Time to meet card #9!

This one’s a fun one. Especially because it uses no Christmas supplies except for the sentiment. The trees are cut from some terrific banner paper from Teresa Collins. I just love it! It’s sized better for scrapbooking, but I thought it would be so fun to invert the banners and use them as trees instead!

The middle tree is adorned with some colorful brads to mimic colorful Christmas lights ( for all you colored Christmas lights people out there!). Some string wound around the brads makes a great garland.

My son especially liked this one, so maybe it could serve as a great card for the smaller people on your card giving list. Think nieces, nephews, students, neighbor kids, children’s friends, etc.

Comment here for your chance to win the prize package. This time tell me how you reach out to others at Christmas time. This year we did Operation Christmas Child. The kids and I had a great time shopping for items to put into the box. We also send a Christmas gift to Sabian, the child we sponsor through Compassion. Most times I try to drop my spare change into the Salvation Army buckets when I pass by, too. There are so many other opportunities to bless others especially at this time of the year. There’s Toys for Tots, Angel Tree and Operation Christmas Child, to name a few. I think it would be a great idea to volunteer at a local soup kitchen or offer services to the elderly or give a gift of groceries to a family in need. I like to do more. I think we can definitely do more.
How about you? Do you have any great ideas for sharing the love of Christmas this time of the year?

supplies: card stock, ink: Stampin’ Up!; stamp: Elle’s Studio; patterned paper: Teresa Collins: brads: unknown; thread: no source.

12 thoughts on “12 cards for Christmas- card #9

  1. Ooh…I think I could handle this one to. :-)

    We did operation christmas child (at MOPS and at church). We make sure to support our compassion kids and whatever project the kids are doing at school or church as well.

  2. Oh, I love that houndstooth tree with the brads! Too fun!

    We donate a gift for the “giving tree” at our church. The school I work at does several things I participate in: canned food drive, $ collection, & adopt-a-family. We also give to Salvation Army kettles & a couple of other charities.

  3. Through the years we have had food drives at work where we get a family’s name and supply them with enough food and presents for the children to have a very merry Christmas, helped to hand out food at the neighborhood food pantry, the Angel tree, the YMCA, donate to the Salvation Army bucket, Toys for Tots, delivered for Meals on Wheels, include someone for Christmas dinner who would otherwise spend it alone. There are so many ways to give at Christmas and it always fills out hearts with joy

  4. I am loving this card….particularly because it is made with non-Christmas themed products. Great job!!

    I usually adopt a child (or two) from an angel tree and when we had a very large income, we would give money to help pay bills and buy food for some families who need it at this time of the year. This year, we have been on the receiving end because we lost our business and my husband has been out of work and has only been able to pick up little odd jobs here and there…..I guess it is good for us to see this end of the spectrum, too. This year, I have been volunteering to help prepare and serve food at our church.

  5. Love that you “strung” the brads. What a great idea!

    I always give to the Salvation Army in malls at this time of year. Year-round we have a “foster” child through Foster Parents Plan.

  6. Ok, being a colored lights sort of person (for my trees anyway) I really like what you’ve done with those brads! Where DO you come up with all these creative ideas girl? lol!

    It sounds like you and your family do a lot to help others. I started out by making cards for Operation Write Home to send to soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan. Since my dad and I both served in the Army I know how important it is for soldiers to be reminded that they are not forgotten. My department at work does an annual fund raiser to buy gifts for residents at some group homes for persons with developmental disabilities. I had the pleasure of buying presents for three of the men and can’t wait to see their excitement when we deliver them, hopefully with someone dressed up as Santa!

  7. Ooh, love how you used the banners for Christmas trees and that your card didn’t use christmas pp – clever and your card is so fun! Helping others – we usually donate to Toys for Tots, give money to the Salvation Army people outside the stores and at work we donated to Shriner’s Hospital for Kids.

  8. Cute, cute, cute! I’m asking also…how do you come up with all these ideas??
    We send money to the Salvation Army every year but I still have to drop a dollar or change in to the buckets, too. Thru Eastern Star we do several projects, food baskets, gifts to shut-ins and this year we adopted a child at the Masonic Children’s Home in Elizabethtown. I’d like to do more.

  9. Love those trees!!
    At work we raise money all year by recycling, raffles, 50/50 draws etc. This year we sponsored kids through Angels and Elves, gave money to the visiting nurses in several surrounding towns to gather things for elderly shut-ins and donated to several food banks. We also gave some to a little girl in town who just lost everything in a fire last week. Her Mom was given enough to buy some necessities and also some gifts.

  10. Lovin the trees!
    I helped last week at our local Library for Daddy & Me.
    Donate & help out for the Christmas Hampers in our little community, and drop my change into the Salvation Army kettle when I’m in the city!

  11. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving! « Sweet Paper Treats

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

