You mean the world to me!


Hiya folks!! How have you all been??? I know I’ve been MIA the last few days.
I’ve been trying to get a handle on some things I’ve been meaning to work on for a while. It seems like I’ve had a lot of stuff (house stuff) that I haven’t been getting around to. And it’s been stealing my energy and creativity, so I decided to tackle some of those things and get them off my mind.
Did I get them all completed? Not by a long shot. But I did get to completely houseclean a room of the house that’s been getting on my nerves a lot lately and refocus myself a bit. I nailed down a plan of action for completing all those things I’ve been wanting to get out of the way. As long as I stay motivated I’ll be in great shape. And nothing motivates me more than getting a job done that’s been weighing on me for a long time. It’s freeing and liberating. Now I feel energized to move on.

Since I haven’t been around much the last few days I thought I’d share a couple of cards with you today.
This first one is one I made for a recent magazine call. Obviously it didn’t get picked, but no worries. That just means I can share it here with you all instead! {smile}

The patterned papers in this card are some of my favorites. The yummy polka dot one is from October Afternoon. The numbers one is from Sassafrass, and the one on the right is a Hambly transparency. The sentiment is this one from Papertrey Ink

The butterfly on this card is actually very pale pink. I die cut is and embossed it before adding it to the card with some pearls to top it off.

This next card was one I put together when I was digging around in a box I had under my desk and came across this debossed flower image, which is one I made when I attended a Stampin’ Up! convention back in 2008. Two entire years ago!!! That’s how good I am at getting around to things. Anyway, I decided this little flower focal image had lived in a neglected state quite long enough and decided to use it post haste on a really quick and easy card.

I paired it with a few other scraps I had lying around, like the grey paper stamped with a flower from the Lawn Fawn Petite Florals set, and the green card base left over from another project which I stamped with the large dots from The Love of Dots stamp from Practicing Creativity Designs.

Thanks so much to all of you who stop by my blog every day, even when I go missing for a while. I appreciate you all so much. Thanks for taking the time to stop by, to read my ramblings, and to leave me comments. You all really do mean the world to me. It’s always comforting to know that there’s someone on the other end, so to speak, and I’m not here just talking to myself. :) Thanks a million!

I looked at my calendar today and almost fell over when I realized the kids go back to school in less than three weeks!!! Aaack!! In some ways I’m ready for a more reliable schedule and a quieter (and less messy) house, but on the other hand……Chloe and I are gonna miss the boys all over again! And the start of school means summer is over!!! Sob!
We have a couple of things to look forward to yet before the start of another school year. One of which is we plan to head to the beach for a day next weekend. Just Eric and I and the kids. I can’t wait and I’m so hoping the weather holds up.
So now the countdown begins. The countdown to school and the end of summer vacation. Back-to-school shopping is on the to-do list today.

Laters!

10 thoughts on “You mean the world to me!

  1. wow miss brenda sooooo beautiful !! I am ready for fall so i can sit in my corner and scrap book away !! Have a greatttt day :)

  2. Love your cards! I never tried debossing and now I will give it a go. You know, you ALMOST have me convinced that I should get some house work done. Luckily, I’m at work. Shhh…don’t tell my boss. ;o)

  3. gray + pink + pearls = beautiful! and i love the surprise color combo on the thank you card! the gray paper sneaks in amid all the brights, and actually belongs there–great job on both! thanks! ~k

  4. Great cards! Guess I wasn’t the only one with magazine rejects this time, but I love yours with that soft pink butterfly and wonderful mixed patterned paper! Too funny about your convention stamped piece, I recognized it right away! I have bags full of unfinished make and take kits!

  5. Hey, Brenda! What lovely cards–the first one looks just like what the magazines like. They should have snapped it up! And the second is fun and bold pretty! I have been feeling much like you with those nagging things zapping creative energy. Good for you for accomplishing that big job and making a plan of action! Maybe you’ll inspire me, LOL!

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

