Makeover Monday- old window gets a new life


Hi everyone! It’s good to be back on the blogging scene after my brief hiatus with the promised project for this month’s Makeover Monday.

This time I chose to redo an old window that I’ve had lying around here for a very, very long time. Several years ago I got a stash of old windows from someone who was looking to get rid of a few. I used a couple up here and there, but there are still a bunch left. I haven’t the heart to throw them out or get rid of them because I’ve seen so many cool projects you do with old windows, like these. I personally would love to try to make one of those little green houses from some of the bigger windows I have left over.

Today’s project, though, is on a much smaller scale. This is the window I started out with.

It’s small, measuring around 21″x13″. It was perfect for what I had in mind.
I’ve been meaning to make a chore chart for my kids for quite some time, but I just couldn’t quite get a plan together to make one that I thought would work for us. It needed to be attractive since I was planning to hang it up somewhere in my dining/living room so it would be easily accessible to the children.

I went scrounging around and thought one of my old windows would work pretty well.
Old windows are easy to find either at auctions or yard sales. I even see them for free along side the road sometimes. You can also check in your newspaper for people wanting to get rid of them, or maybe Craigslist would be a good option.
One thing you will want to consider is that old windows sometime have been painted using lead based paint, so you’ll want to check the safety of your window, especially if you’re using it where kids will be able to touch it or the get into any flakes of paint that might fall off. Lead testing kits can be found in hardware and home improvement store such as Home Depot.

Anyway, here’s a look at what my window ended up becoming.

I started out by sanding down the window frame to get rid of any flaking paint. Then I brushed on coat of clear varnish to seal it and keep it from flaking further.
Then I backed the openings with cork. I found some cork sheets at Target in the office supplies isle that were thicker than the rolls of cork you might find elsewhere.
I cut the cork to size and used two sheets per opening to give the cork more depth. I backed the cork sheets with sheets of aluminum cut down to size. The guy at Home Depot was nice enough to cut them for me so that I wouldn’t have to purchase a metal cutting scissors.
I just glued everything into place with my hot glue gun. It worked very well.

Then I marked slots for the days of the week and the chores onto the cork using a black sharpie. It was a little hard to get nice straight line because the cork isn’t smooth to write on. If I were doing it again I would do this step before gluing everything together. But I often like to make things harder than they need to be.

I decorated the frame a little with some paper I have left over from Stampin’ Up! It had these daisies on the one side that I cut out and mod podged to the window frame, adding some pearls to the centers for a little more decoration.

The chore pieces were cut from old Stampin’ Up! paper as well since it matched pretty well to my dining/living room. Plus, it was nice to be able to use up some of my old stash. I backed the chore pieces with thin chipboard to give them more stability since they’ll be handled pretty much.

To attach the chore pieces to the chart I cut a small strip of magnet to place on the back of each one. there is also a magnet in each of the chore spaces on the chart so the chores can be taken down and new ones put up or they can be rearranged to suit our needs.

I made stick pins with each child’s initials on them so they can look for their designated chores by looking for the one that their initial is next to.

I found the little buckets in the dollar spot at Target. they were bright blue for Independence Day, so I spray painted them white and hung them from hooks I added to the bottom of the window. The buckets hold our extra chores and initial pins.

The kids are excited about their chore chart and can’t wait to begin using it. One of the reasons they’re so excited about their chore has to do with a project I’m doing to go along with our chore chart. Stop back tomorrow and I’ll show you what it is.

The only problem is that the buckets hand down over my light switches. I might have to find a new place to hang this because I know for a fact that this will annoy DH. Or maybe I could have the light switches moved. Whadya think?

Thanks so much for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Makeover Monday- old window gets a new life

  1. Great job! We sure need a chore chart but mine will be much less involved or it won’t get done. Some day I’ll be able to devote more time on such things. Thanks for sharing.

  2. WOW!!! Absolutely LOVE it Brenda! I’ve had cheap paper ones for the fridge that never get used. This looks so much more fun and exciting. Any chance you have extra of this size window to spare? :) Also would love to have your list of chores as well as the lists for your daily fun/ weekly adventure project. This is just what I need to get the children organized and motivated :)

  3. Pingback: Co można zrobić ze starych okiennic? | Mieszkaniowe inspiracje

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

