with Sympathy


These kinds of cards are hard to have to make and send aren’t they? Those times when someone we care about has lost someone they love.
This card is for a friend of mine who has just recently lost her dad. My heart aches for her and her family who are mourning the loss of a wonderful man in their lives.

I decided to make this card using the colors of Dawn McVey’s Color Inspiration Challenge. This is my first time participating with Dawn’s challenges although I’ve been admiring the challenge submission since the first round.

RS IC #9

I thought these colors were so soft and soothing. Perfect for a sympathy card or even a wedding or anniversary card.

046

Sorry, I know the photo is not great. It was a little too dark by the time I got around to photographing it and there are shadows all over the place.

supplies: stamps: Beautiful Borders; card stock: Certainly Celery, Basic Black, Very Vanilla, vellum; Ink: Basic Black (Stampin’ Up!); scallop patterned paper, patterned paper frame (making Memories); butterfly punch (Martha Stewart); Swiss Dots embossing folder (Cuttlebug); ribbon

I just want to give you a heads up about a tutorial I’ll be posting on 52 sketches 52 weeks tomorrow. It’s a tutorial on distressing techniques, so hop on over there and check it out tomorrow.

10 thoughts on “with Sympathy

  1. What a sweet card! That would sure show how much you care during a sad time! Great work! Congratulations on being in Dawn’s “spotlight!”

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

