Makeover Monday- recycled scrapbook packaging


Hi again everyone!

As promised I’m back with today’s Makeover Monday projects. Today I’m focusing on reusing the packaging that scrapbook supplies come in. Many manufacturers are paying just as much attention to the packaging of their product as they do to the product themselves. After all, it’s the presentation that often sells the product. That means after you’ve used those fabulous scrapbook products you are left with some lovely packaging that is often just too pretty to just throw away. There’s no better way to stretch your scrapbooking budget and be green in the process than to reuse that packaging in your paper crafting projects.

For instance, here is a photo of some of the packaging I had lying around that I thought would be great to reuse.
016

Here’s a few close ups so you can see exactly what I’ll be using on my projects.
017
Chatterbox (black & white striped), Colorbok (friendly forest), Making Memories (green).

018
Paper Crush (blue and orange), Jenni Bowlin (label shaped), Imaginisce (blue floral), Scalloped edge (Fancy Pants)

I ended up not using all of these but at least you can get a good idea of what to keep your eyes open for when it comes to using the packaging from your scrapbook supplies.

First up, I decided to use the Jenni Bowlin label shaped package that held some chipboard buttons. I thought the shape of the packaging would make a great shaped card.

Trace the shape onto a folded piece of card stock leaving the edge of the packaging extend over the edge of the card stock at the folded end.
019

Carefully cut out the traced shape.
020

Then decorate.
023

Here’s a close up which shows the butterfly that I also cut out of some leftover packaging.
024

And see that stamp on the bottom right? That’s a little sneak peek for you of one of the new stamp sets coming in the Fall/Winter 2009-2010 Stampin’ Up! Idea Book & Catalog.

On this scrapbook page I used that Blue and orange circle patterned package from Paper Crush. I thought it would work well for a boy themed page.
025

I kept the page super simple with a piece of the packaging on the left of the photo and a coordinating piece of patterned paper I pulled form my scrap stash to the right of the photo. A few embellishments, a title, and some journaling finish it off.

I used the blue floral piece from Imaginisce for these cards.
021

Again, I kept things pretty simple by sticking to a basic design and adding a few embellishments for interest.

Last, but not least, I wanted to show you how I used that pretty black and white striped scalloped edge piece form Chatterbox. The design continued over to the back of the packaging and so I took advantage of the extra pattern by carefully cutting around the scallops on the back side of the piece and added them to the top and bottom of the photo on this page.
026

I also punched some tiny butterflies out of the light green piece to add to the left hand side of the page.

I kept my designs very simple this time since I was short on time, but hopefully You’ve been inspired to find new ways to use the packaging left over from your purchases.
As always, if you are worried about the acid content of any items like this you can spray with archival mist. I don’t worry about it too much.

Tell me what you think!

Later!

3 thoughts on “Makeover Monday- recycled scrapbook packaging

  1. way to go green ! I love it all . my fingers are getting itchy for scrapbooking ! :) I am hoping to order pics this week . have a great week ! hugs kolleen

I love hearing from my readers! Thanks for your comment!

